Recent Posts

30 April 2011

Talking California Genealogical Society Initiatives on Blog Talk Radio

I was honored to be a guest on the Federation of Genealogical Societies' new blog radio show, My Society on Saturday, April 29, 2011. Host (and far-flung member) Thomas MacEntee invited me to discuss Genealogy Society Initiatives That Work!

During the first forty-five minutes of the hour long show, Thomas and I talked about the California Genealogical Society blog, eNews and our internet presence across social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Yelp, and American Towns. We also discussed these initiatives:

  • Society "Welcome Mat"
  • First Free Saturday Intro class
  • Family History Month classes
  • Don't hide your newsletter behind the website membership wall
  • Collaboration 
The shows are archived so you can listen to them anytime. My Society airs every Saturday at 2:00 p.m. Eastern, 1:00 p.m. Central, 12:00 p.m. Mountain and 11:00 a.m. Pacific time.

Let me know what you think!
Listen to internet radio with mysociety on Blog Talk Radio.

Founded in 1976, the Federation of Genealogical Societies links the genealogical community by helping genealogical societies strengthen and grow. To do this, FGS publishes FORUM magazine, filled with articles pertaining to society management and genealogical news; publishes an extensive series of Society Strategy Papers, covering topics about effectively operating a genealogical society; sponsors an annual conference – four days of excellent lectures, including one full day devoted to society management topics; publishes a blog, FGS Voice; and hosts My Society on BlogTalkRadio.


Copyright © 2011 by Kathryn M. Doyle, California Genealogical Society and Library.

0 comments: