Recent Posts

31 July 2011

Fourth Annual Beginning Genealogy Series Starts September 15, 2011

In celebration of October Family History Month, the Oakland Regional Family History Center (ORFHC) and the California Genealogical Society (CGS) are offering the fourth annual Fall Beginning Genealogy Research Series. Six 1-1/2 hour sessions includes a field trip to the California Genealogical Society Library. Enrolled students may attend Thursday afternoon or Tuesday evening sessions, or both. Come and learn the basics!

Where:  Oakland Regional Family History Center, 4766 Lincoln Avenue, Oakland, CA 94602
When:   Thursday afternoons (1-2:30) or Tuesday evenings (7-8:30) – see specific dates below
Cost:     $30 for six sessions, includes syllabus – $5 to attend one class, if space available

Preregistration is necessary to ensure adequate handouts. Download the information flier for the full course schedule.

Register online.

Afternoon Sessions – Thursdays 1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Thursday, September 15, 2011 – Introduction to Genealogy
Thursday, September 22, 2011 – Secondary Research
Thursday, September 29, 2011 – Getting the Most from the Census
Thursday, October 6, 2011 – Field Trip to the CGS Library
Thursday, October 13, 2011 – Vital Records and the Calendar Change of 1752
Thursday, October 20, 2011 – Orientation to the ORFHC

Evening Sessions – Tuesdays 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, September 27, 2011 – Introduction to Genealogy
Tuesday, October 4, 2011 – Secondary Research
Tuesday, October 11, 2011 – Getting the Most from the Census
Tuesday, October 18, 2011 – Orientation to the ORFHC
Tuesday, October 25, 2011 – Vital Records and the Calendar Change of 1752
Tuesday, November 1, 2011 – Field Trip to the CGS Library

PLEASE NOTE:
  • Class size limited to the first thirty who register. 
  • Walk-ins only if space allows. 
  • Free parking at the Oakland Regional Family History Center 
  • $10.00 off a CGS membership if you join by November 1, 2011
*All sessions at the ORFHC except Field Trip to CGS Library, 2201 Broadway, Oakland.


Copyright © 2011 by Kathryn M. Doyle, California Genealogical Society and Library

0 comments: